Warning: Unorganization

One of my most favourite scenes of all movies is in Shrek when donkey is racing through the forest trying to find the “red flower, blue thorns” and he’s saying it over and over, panicking, and then says “this would be so much easier if I wasn’t colour blind!”

That has absolutely nothing to do with this paragraph. I’m so sorry for the lack of posting lately; I’ve just been doing yard work and not really adventuring and each day is a little bit like the same. But it’s changing. Oh me oh my is it changing. Next week, in 7 days, I will be on a plane leaving London and flying to Los Angeles. I’m trying to find places to stay whether on BeWelcome or on workaway. BW is another couch surfing site (yes, parents, I’m being careful with it. Please don’t worry or lecture.) In LA I got a response but I will only meet up with the girl for coffee and a tour around maybe because her couch is unavailable at the moment. No one else has responded yet. So I emailed a family on workaway in Malibu, which isn’t really LA but if its a free place to stay for two weeks, it’s close enough. Work there would be from 7am to 12 making and storing meals for the family for the day. I think it would be great, but I only emailed them tonight so I don’t know if they will take me on such short notice. Fingers crossed šŸ™‚

I’ve semi decided to go to San Francisco for a few days, so that would be from then16th to about the 22nd or so. Then, on the 23rd, I somehow get back to Calgary, sleep, and then interview for a job during the stampede. Three weeks later I will be heading home home. Smithers home. Farm home.
I am only 4 weeks away from having made this trip without having to beg for any money! I think I can do it! Actually, I know I can do it. I will. Before I left, I knew it would be a tight budget. But then in a conversation with my brother, he found out how much money I was going with and said “you’re never gonna last with that.” So I told him ” just watch me.” And that settled it. It would be a tight budget and that was that.
I panicked for a little bit there because I was really not seeing how I could eat and pay for transit and rooms. But it’s working. I don’t know how. But it’s working.

I promised my dear aunt some pictures of the place I’m staying at and today would have been great for photos. The sun was shining and everything was green from the last four days of rain. Sadly, I didn’t take pictures. I have a few for now though.
This is a bridge I crossed last weekend. Close to the town I’m in.

20130525-214939.jpg
The darling caravan that sits in the yard.

20130525-215036.jpg
And this is where I take my morning runs. Or in today’s case, afternoon jog/ flailing arm and tripping feet.

20130525-215149.jpg

In four days I will be in London for the rest of the month and I will certainly have stories. And I’ll have pictures. And we know how I am with touristy things like Big Ben and the London eye, so that should be awkward and entertaining.

Another favourite movie scene is in pitch perfect as the teams walk out of the auditorium after a completion. In the lobby are four guys in matching suits and singing in less than great accapella harmony. Luckily for the viewer, we get to watch about 20 seconds of these guys trying to sing some rap or hip-hop/ beat box song and it. Is. Hilarious. I watch that one part over and over sometimes.
Buenos noches, world!
All my loves. Sarah.

Leave a Reply

