The Songs That Get Me Through.

I have a playlist that I’ve been adding too and taking from as my journey has gone on. But these are a few songs that I really connect with and love, and I’d like to share them with you!
So without further ado, here is my Travel Thoughts playlist. Part of it.

Southern Comfort Zone- Brad Paisley.
Favourite lines: “I have since become a drifter/ and I just can’t wait to pack/ cause I know the road I leave on/ will always bring me back.”
Why: I’ve never been content in one place for long. I had hoped that this bouncing across different continents would cure that, but nope. I’m already imagining backpacking trips to India, Southeast Asia, Africa, and back to Europe to visit the awesome people I have met over there.

Pioneer- The Band Perry.
Favourite lines: the whole song. Every single line. Especially “oh pioneer, so young and brave/ be careful of the careful souls who doubt you along the way.”
Why: “be careful, it’s dangerous there!” “Don’t go there! That city isn’t safe.”
I can’t count how many times I heard that from family, friends, and the old couples that I always sit next to on the plane. And every time I heard it, I was thankful that I had people worried about my safety but at the same time I would think “nowhere is safe. I can be worried and comfortable and listen to all the concerned people out there, or I can explore other unsafe areas and decide for myself if its “safe” or not.”
But seriously, go listen to the whole song on repeat for like 3 days. It’s amazing.

Little Miss- Sugarland.
Favourite lines: again, I like a lot of them but I’ll highlight this one line “Who you are is so much more than you like to talk about.”
Why: simple. I like to talk, even about myself. (I am my parents daughter after all.) but there are many questions that only two people in the world have asked me. I spent less than a week with each of them and yet somehow, they know more important things about who I am than my closest friends and family. Because there are some things even I don’t like to talk about.

I Go Back- Kenny Cheney
Favourite line: “we all have a song that somehow stamped our lives/ takes us to another place and time.”
Why: this basically sums up the playlist, but this one also hits on all those summer nights with friends, saying good-byes and see-you-when-I-see-yous. Often, this song leads to reminiscing and nostalgic homesickness, but it also reminds me that home is just a song away.

Turning Home- David Nail
Favourite lines: “I don’t know no friends like the old friends/ I never seem to laugh now like I did with them.”
“There’s something about a Sunday when I’m gone that keeps me turning home.”
Why: 1st: I have made some amazing friends around the world from each continent! But I haven’t laughed like I do with 5 minutes of being with my old group of friends. I can’t wait to see with them and work my abs with laughter!
2nd: Sunday was a routine. It was always in a hurry and Nutella and Zupfa. Steaks and farm BBQ. Planning for the week ahead and watching the kids run across the yard trying to catch the rabbit that has escaped from
another unlocked cage.

Those are the songs that have carried me through and inspired me to keep going. I realize now that they are all country even though the actual playlist has different artists and genres. I guess my heart is always with the country music 🙂
Good afternoon, world.
All my love, Sarah.

Leave a Reply

