….Wha…Eh…Uh…?

It’s 10:50 on a warm, but windy, Friday. I’ve nestled myself in a cushiony Starbucks chair that is still warm from being previously vacated. Business men come in to buy their muffins and low fat lattes while they chat about work and the weather.
We made it. I’m really here in Calgary and this time it’s not just temporary. Yesterday at 4:30 in the morning, Alix and I hopped in her truck and began the 14 hour drive to our new home without a house. The chatter and moments shared along the way just confirmed that we really will be okay as housemates and despite the fact that this is nerve racking and stressful, a year from now we will look back and be so happy we made this decision. Personally, I can’t wait to see who I am 8 or 10 months from now.
I’m enjoying this moment of hubbub around me because I’m in a corner. I can watch everyone else’s hectic lives and take a break from booking viewings and figuring out my budget. It’s still kind of hard to wrap my brain around the fact that this is now home. I love it here though. The conveniences of a city and the feel of a small town. I have an hour until the first viewing, then a job interview, and then back to my sisters for dinner and then an open house. I’m crossing my fingers and praying we get one of the houses from last night or the one tonight. Rent is reasonable for them and it would suit us well.
My darling baby sister is housing Alix and I, but that’s not all. When we arrived last night, Len was filling out an application for me for the house she’d seen earlier and she also handed both of us a folder of our cover letters and references and an envelope of our résumés which she edited to near perfection and printed off. When Alix was talking this morning about needing a new bank, Len suggested the one she was with and Alix said she would call when she got out of the shower. Well, Elena called while Alix was in the shower and had an appointment set up for 30 minutes later. I would be crying right now if it wasn’t for her.
Who would have guessed that the girl I thought I hated growing up would become one of my best and most gorgeous friends? (Actually, my mom knew. “I know you’re fighting now but one day your sister will be your best friend. So go hug her and say you’re sorry.” And it was almost never my fault.)
So, was moving to Calgary with limited money and no secure housing a great idea? It sure wasn’t a bad one. I’m so excited for this adventure. And the people I’ll meet and the places I’ll go and the lessons I’ll learn!
I’m off I go do grown up things like banking and drinking fancy coffees and walking quickly pretending I am important and have important things to do with important people at important times like now.
Good morning, beautiful world! I love you all and thanks for still reading my blog even when I don’t post quite as often as I want to and when I do it’s a lot of run on sentences.
Love, Sarah.
Oh and p.s. if you don’t have a sister, you should probably get one. Mine all rock. (Brothers are pretty awesome too….)

20130809-112233.jpg

Leave a Reply

