The Sun Shines, Yet The Wind Blows.

“Well, I fought with a stranger and I met myself. 
I opened my mouth and I heard myself, 
it can get pretty lonely when you show yourself.
Guess, I could’ve made it easier on myself.

But, no, I could never follow. 
Well I never seem to do it like anybody else, 
maybe someday, someday I’m gonna settle down. 
If you ever wanna find me I can still be found 

Taking the long way around.”

-Taking The Long Way Around- Dixie Chicks. 

  My dad is the biggest Dixie Chicks fan I have ever known. Every spring and summer he would pile us kids into the van or the truck and begin a long 13 hour drive to the grandparents house. Road trips need music, so, after Cher, Brooks and Dunn, and Celine Dion had all sang about their 80’s and 90’s broken hearts, we listened to the Dixie Chicks. We knew every song off every album and it was nice music and all was fine. Then, in 2001, the twin towers fell, Bush declared war, and Natalie made a public statement saying she was disappointed that the President was from her state.
People were not impressed. My dad was. 
Their documentary “Shut up and Sing” was watched in our house way too much and any new music was still highly supported by our family. 
This past week was a learning one. I have no regrets although I made a few edits to what others thought was most offensive. A lot of time was spent on the internet doing my own research and coming to my own conclusions while listening to iTunes on shuffle. Luckily, I own some of my own Dixie Chicks music and their song came through the mix and reminded me that I had to deal with less than three hundred opinions that contradicted mine. Those girls had to deal with millions. 
I listened to “Long Way Around” a few times and then played the rest of their album and remembered those years gone by when I was a naive and gullible little girl who only connected the music with road trips to visit the grandparents. 

  My favourite thing about getting older is getting to understand the lyrics and relate them to my own life experiences. There is a song or piece of music for every stage of life and we are very lucky and blessed that we get to hear it and associate it individually. 

 Thank you for reading, world. 
All my love, 
Sarah

Leave a Reply

