How McDonalds Is Luring Me In.

3. It’s warm and has free wifi. 

2. For the price of a small tea I have access to unlimited wifi for as long as I want. And I have tea. 

1. Its the closest place to my house that offers wifi. 

  In many places, according to my Facebook news feed, Autumn is upon us with its pumpkin spice lattes, skinny jeans, and knee high boots complete with scarves and cute toques. Here in Calgary, we skipped Autumn. The only thing falling is snow, and lots of it. Luckily, I’m no longer in the basement suite; instead, I’m up top where I can see the snow burdening the boughs of the tall tree in front of my window. However, my apartment is cold and my tiny space heater wasn’t doing the trick. In an attempt to warm my spaghetti sauce, the microwave gave up and didn’t return to life. So on my small elements, I began warming water for noodles. I turned on the second element to heat up the sauce and the entire thing stopped working. I was now the creator of damp, uncooked noodles and cold spaghetti sauce. I won a staring contest with the pots before going back to my bed, huddling under the quilts, and watching the rest of “The Breakfast Club.” 
My stomach was growling, my fingers were freezing, and my data plan was being run higher than it should be this early into the month. What was I supposed to do? Where was I supposed to go? Would anyone welcome me in from the snowstorm and let me use their wifi and eat their food? McDonalds did. 
  Although I do not consider us “friends”, I would say that I’m on speaking terms with them and their tea list. This is the life of a semi-freeloader. 
Stay warm and connected, Dear World. 
All my love, 
Sarah

Leave a Reply

