Wanna Hear a Joke?

ME: “What did the pirate say when he turned 80?”
Dustin: “I don’t know. What?”
ME: “Aye Matey!”
Dustin: “haha. Ar Matey. thats funny.”
Me: “….No. Thats not the punch line. It’s ‘Aye Matey.’ sounds like ‘I’m Eighty.'”
Dustin: “Ya I get it. its a pirate sound. It sounds like he’s saying ‘YAR matey.”
Me: ………….. “I don’t know if I can handle this situation right now. You are laughing at a punch line that doesn’t even exist. ‘Yar Matey’ is not the joke. Its ‘Aye Matey.”
Dustin: “Uh. Okay.”

Often I feel like my humour is too smart for the crowds I hang out with. I’ll say something funny and no one gets it because I’m referencing a play or a country that non thespians and non-travellers wouldn’t know. And then I go to a simple little haha joke and still my joke is misunderstood. Maybe I’m the one who is not getting the punch line. Perhaps its not their sense of humour that is lame, but mine.
I blame homeschooling for making me unfunny. My mom was the recipient of all my jokes and she had to laugh. Its like breaking the mom-law if you don’t laugh at your kids’ jokes.
Personally, I laughed at the AYE MATEY because it reminded me of something my dad would say with pride.
Also, why doesn’t my boyfriend get my jokes?
Stay humorous, World.
All my love, Sarah

Leave a Reply

